#RLSDay in Edinburgh

Here’s how I celebrated Robert Louis Stevenson and participated in his unbirthday.

I was informed from three directions that he gave his birthday to a little girl; we had some scholarly disputes regarding whether it was Christmas Day or Leap Day, but this post seems to have settled it, in true RLS fashion.

Later, I got a bit “sociology of religion” eggheady, which is only fair, since my viva is tomorrow:

You’ll note I have a hard time counting toward the end…

Later, I yak about my favourite of his books, Kidnapped.

(Stevenson’s family were lighthouse builders, and Murton(‘s researchers) suggest Earraid was not only a setting in Kidnapped but also inspiration for the remoter and warmer Treasure Island.)

Speaking of kids and images, I also highlighted this gem of picture books and kids’ verse:

And then, this to cap it off:

Leave a Reply

